Campus News

CIVS receives ‘Innovators’ honor

Purdue Calumet’s entire CIVS (Center for Innovation through Visualization and Simulation) team of faculty, staff, administrators and students last week was named co-recipient of the 2012-13 Chanute Prize for Team Innovation, presented annually by Ivy Tech Community College Northwest and The Society of Innovators.

Receiving the Chanute Prize prompted smiles galore by members of the CIVS team.
Receiving the Chanute Prize prompted smiles galore by members of the CIVS team.

The Chanute Prize recognizes team dynamics, process, culture and benefits of innovation; the innovation itself; and the “Wow” factor.

“Innovation is the catalyst of economic development,” Chancellor Keon said. “This award is greatly appreciated and marks the continuation of a great future for Purdue Calumet as a source for new business enterprise.”

Managing Director of The Society of Innovators John Davies applauded CIVS’ selection, “because it has been, and is, and will continue to help innovative and entrepreneurial enterprises across Northwest Indiana re-imagine their possibilities through visualization and simulation technologies. This is an amazing tool that few of us could have imagined only a few short years ago.”

Contributed to $30+ million in savings

CIVS integrates such cutting edge technologies as simulation, visualization and 3D virtual reality to create virtual worlds for solving challenging, real world problems, promoting economic development, improving productivity and energy usage, and limiting environmental impacts for industrial partners.

Since 2009, CIVS has helped industry save more than $30 million in production and efficiency costs, while providing valuable experiential learning opportunities for our students.

“This award provides great recognition for our team,” CIVS Director, Professor and Interim Associate Vice Chancellor for Research and Graduates Studies Chenn Zhou said. “I appreciate the dedication and effort all our team members have made. I also am grateful for all the individuals and organizations who have supported CIVS.

A team effort

Team members include: (Leadership) Chancellor Keon, Professor/former Chancellor Howard Cohen, Vice Chancellor Ralph Rogers, Interim Vice Chancellor Regina Biddings-Muro and Director/Professor Zhou; (Faculty) Bin Chen, Roy Evans, Ge Jin, Janet Buckenmeyer, Roger Kraft, Robert Rescot, Shawn Slavin, Yueqi Zhang and Dong Fu; and (Staff) Doreen M. Gonzalez-Gaboyan, John Moreland, Linda Robinson, Armin Silaen and Bin Wu.

Read more about The Innovators’ award recipients at: Other information about CIVS is available at