Learning through Engagement

Faculty mentors partner with student researchers

Office of University Relations

Forty-two faculty mentors are advising and supervising student researchers through Purdue University Calumet’s Undergraduate Research Grants and Indiana Space Grants programs.

Nearly $15,100 was authorized in support of the Undergraduate Research Grants program this academic year. Support for the federally funded Indiana Space Grants program totals $5,900.

Bin Wu, CIVS Research Engineer (left) and Matt Cross, Student
Bin Wu, CIVS Research Engineer (left) and Matt Cross, Student

Student grant requests were evaluated by a committee of faculty members who conducted a blind review. Thirty-six Undergraduate Research and 10 Indiana Space grants were awarded to individual students and student teams. Individual recipients received up $300; student team grants were valued at up to $600.

“Undergraduate students engaging in scholarly research are important to achieve Purdue Calumet’s strategic goals,” Undergraduate Student Research Coordinator / Associate Professor of Computer Science Ruijian Zhang said. “We provide these grants for undergraduate students to improve their project quality and to finish their research projects with less financial obstacles, as well as to encourage more students to take part in research projects.”

Process to qualify

Students submitted their application to their faculty mentor for review. Mentors are asked to advise and review, but not write the application. After mentor review and approval, the completed application is sent to the Student Research Office.

Faculty mentors

Faculty mentors are: Josa Pena, Construction Science and Organizational Leadership; Gail Wegner, Joan Dorman and Ellen Moore, School of Nursing; Harvey Abramowitz, Robert Rescot, Chandramouli Viswanathan, George Nnanna and Ihdrajit Ray, Mechanical Engineering; Wei-Tsyi Evert Ting, Radmila Sarac, Young Choi and Curtis Creighton, Biological Sciences; Tae-Hoon Kim and Ge Jin, Computer Information Technology and Graphics; Muhammad Anan, Constanin Apostoaia, Bin Chen, J. P. Agrawal, Nasser Houshangi and David Kozel, Electrical and Computer Engineering; Kathleen Tobin and Tanya Stabler, History and Political Science; Chenn Zhou, Armin Silaen, Shoji Nakayama, Bin Wu, Dong Fu and John Moreland, Center for Innovation through Visualization and Simulation; and J.P. Agrawal, Engineering Technology.

Also, J.C. Creighton, L. Pelter and M. Pelter, Chemistry and Physics; Kuan-Chou Chen, Information Systems, Finance and Business Analytics; Geoff Barrow, Foreign Languages & Literature; Lin Zhao, Chen Ye, and Kuan-Chou Chen, Information Systems, Finance and Business Analytics; Harold Pinnick and Sharon Schleigh, Chemistry and Physics; Ruijan Zhang and Nicoleta Tarfulea, Mathematics, Computer Science and Statistics; and Ge Jin, Computer Information Technology.