CSOL Department Head appointed to National Position

Professor Tony Gregory, Construction Science and Organizational Leadership Department Head, has been appointed as the National Society of Professional Surveyors (NSPS) Governor/Director for the Indiana Society of Professional Land Surveyors (ISPLS).  In this position, he will represent professional surveyors in Indiana at the national level.  The NSPS Board of Governors/Directors meets every spring and fall.  It will be Professor Gregory’s responsibility to provide direct reports to the Board of Directors of ISPLS of any national issues.  This appointment will benefit Purdue University Calumet students in that the current legal and technological matters in the land surveying profession will be brought directly into the classroom because of Professor Gregory’s involvement in ISPLS.

National Society of Professional Surveyors (NSPS) members from 19 states, including Professor Gregory, ventured to Capitol Hill in Washington, DC to visit their Congressmen and Senators during the society’s Lobby Day. Scores of representatives were contacted on Davis-Bacon; the “Map It Once” bill; the need for locating pipelines, railroads and underground infrastructure; and concerns that privacy legislation will result in unintended limits on surveying and mapping. A wrap-up meeting of the NSPS delegation featured remarks by Rep. Tim Walberg (R-MI), Chairman of the House Subcommittee on Workforce Protections, who has lead the investigation into the Labor Department’s new policy classifying survey technicians as “laborers and mechanics” subject to the controversial Davis-Bacon Act. Walberg thanked NSPS for its efforts and called the Labor Department’s actions an “affront” to the profession, and a costly burden, particularly on small business surveying firms.


NSPS Members visit Capital Hill

Rep. Tim Walberg (R-MI) chats with NSPS members before delivering remarks during Lobby Day. Pictured L-R are Bob Akins (OH), Tony Gregory (IN), Wade Bennett (OK), Becky Roland (CO), David Doyle (AAGS), Rep. Walberg and Jan Fokens (MI).