Professor named as the National Chair

Dr. Mohammad Zahraee, Professor of Mechanical Engineering Technology, has been elected as the national Chair of the Technology Accreditation Commission (TAC) of Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET).


Dr. Zahraee is serving a one year term that began last July.  As the National Chair, Dr. Zahraee will oversee all accreditation visits, heads an executive committee of eight, represents TAC on the ABET Board, is a member of the Executive committee of the Board of ABET, will be responsible for operations of the TAC, training of the TAC Commissioners (Team Chairs for accreditation visits), will be the final editor for all institutional reports, and will be in charge of the annual meeting of Technology Accreditation Commission, in July 2009, where all accreditation actions for this year are discussed and decided.


Prior to becoming the Chair, Dr. Zahraee served as the Chair-Elect, and Vice Chair of Operations, each for a one year term.  He has been a member of the Executive Committee of Technology Accreditation Commission since 2003. He was also a TAC commissioner (Team Chair of accreditation visits) from 1997 to 2003 and a program evaluator from 1992 through 1997.


Technology Accreditation Commission is one of the four commissions of the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology.  TAC of ABET accredits over 700 technology programs in over 230 institutions in the United States and some around the world.


Dr. Zahraee holds a Bachelor’s degree in Mechanical Engineering from Southern Illinois University, a Master’s in Structural Engineering and PhD in Engineering Mechanics both from the University of Illinois at Chicago.