Legacy Environmental, Circle Tool in EDGE Awards spotlight

Chris Byrd and Lorrie Lisek at the Statehouse.

Chris Byrd and Lorrie Lisek pose at the Statehouse.

Indianapolis — Lt. Governor Sue Ellspermann joined business leaders from across the state recently to present 20 companies with the Indiana Small Business Development Center’s Economic Development through Growth and Entrepreneurship (EDGE) Awards during a Statehouse ceremony.

Sponsored by the Indiana Economic Development Corporation’s Small Business Development Centers, the awards recognize clients of the agency’s 10 regional offices in two categories – emerging and established.

The Northwest ISBDC honorees include Schererville-based Circle Tool Supply owned by Chris Byrd in the Emerging Category.

As an industrial supply company, CTS provides a range of items from hand, cutting and power tools and abrasives to safety equipment and MRO (maintenance repair operations) supplies.

“Because I hadn’t owned my own business and had worked in the corporate world – where things are already established – I had taken that for granted,” Byrd said.

“(NW-ISBDC business adviser Cindy Bertram) and I discussed pitfalls and what most start-ups do wrong – the traps people fall into that are difficult to get out of and can harm the business. I got a good grasp of what not to do. The SBDC is a great resource to get a business going and once going, to take off from there.”

Legacy Environmental Services, owned by Carl and Lorrie Lisek, was honored in the Established Category. The company has grown over the years to its current location at the Purdue Technology Center of Northwest Indiana in Crown Point.

Together, the statewide honorees represent 195 full-time Indiana jobs and in total finished 2012 with more than $6 million in sales.

“Brand new ventures or seasoned businesses, these companies have made great strides for Indiana’s workforce and business landscape,” said Ellspermann in a statement. “With fresh ideas and new energy as a trademark, the Hoosier State will continue to encourage many more entrepreneurs like these to build our future. Congratulations to this year’s award recipients who have worked hard to earn this recognition.”