Outstanding Future Educators

3 Purdue Calumet students named

Indiana ‘Outstanding Future Educators’

Three Purdue University Calumet teacher preparation students have been selected to receive 2012-13 Indiana Outstanding Future Educators Awards.

The recipients are: Mitchell Bidwell of Dyer, a secondary social studies major; Jennifer Ciesielski of Hobart, elementary education/special needs; and Krystle Shanks of St. John, elementary education.

Recognition Day April 12

The awards are presented by the Indiana Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (IACTE) based on student portfolio scores, outstanding student teacher experiences and nomination by university supervisors.

The students will receive their awards at the IACTE Recognition Day banquet Friday (4/12).

High praise

Bidwell was praised by his nominator, Limited Term Lecturer Denise Vance, as one who “is eager to try new or innovative techniques with (his) students, creating new paths to understanding and mastery of subject areas. Moreover, it is very apparent that he and his students have a wonderful relationship, making the learning experience interesting and fun.”

Purdue Calumet Associate Professor of Elementary and Special Education Tom Mihail acknowledged Ciesielski for reflecting “dedication to maximizing opportunities for all learners to achieve their potential.” Continuing, Mihail indicated, “Jen’s positive attitudes, knowledge, and skills reflect a genuine love and concern for students; commitment to education’s purpose and goals; positive expectations; integrity; fairness; and opposition to unjust, unequal treatment of people based on differences.”

Shanks has been described by her nominator, Limited Term Lecturer Helen Ignas, as having “a caring personality” with “good rapport with her students… If there is such a thing as a born educator, Krystle is it. She has that deep desire and commitment to want to excel and make a difference as an educator.”