Purdue Calumet honors faculty/staff who attracted $12+ million for research

Purdue University Calumet’s Office of Research and Graduate Studies recently honored 25 faculty and staff members for attracting more than $12 million in externally sponsored grant funding to advance learning and applied research.

Faculty and administrators who received grant funding of more than $100,000 per year between July 2010 and June 2012 were honored.

The Office of Research and Graduate Studies serves to promote and advance excellence and innovation in sponsored programs and graduate education, while assisting research in graduate studies.

[These grants] provide funding and outstanding opportunities for student research and experiential learning, supporting faculty scholarly activities and engaging local industry and community,” Interim Associate Vice Chancellor for Research and Graduate Studies Chenn Qian Zhou said.

6 ‘Outstanding Achievement in Sponsored Programs’ recipients

Six professors—one from each Purdue Calumet academic school—received Outstanding Achievement in Sponsored Programs Awards for the significant academic benefit their grants have contributed to Purdue Calumet and its students.

Those honorees, their grant project title, sponsor and grant amount are as follows:

Assistant Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering Bin Chen, “Laser Technology for Improving Beach Monitoring for Bacteria”, Environmental Protection Agency, $249,785;

Professor of Management Sue Connors, “Equine Survey Project”, Multi-Sponsored Industrials, $138,550, and Equine Survey Phase II”, Indiana State Budget Agency, $36,000;

School of Nursing Dean/Professor Peggy S. Gerard, “Bridges to the Doctorate for Nursing”, University of Illinois at Chicago; $171,543 and Professional Nurse Traineeship (submission phase 1/2), Health Resources and Services Administration, $34,852;

Professor of History George Hong, “Establishing a Spatial Information Network for the Studies o”, The Henry Luce Foundation Inc., $300,000;

School of Technology Dean Niaz Latif, “Meeting Workforce Needs for Mechatronics Technicians”, National Science Foundation, $613,862; and

Thomas Ray Crowel Professor of Science and Technology Robert Rivers, “Exploration Earth: Introduction of Project Mission Ocean”, Office of Naval Research, $310,000.

19 Outstanding Commitment to Sponsored Programs recipients

Additionally, 19 other faculty and staff members received Outstanding Commitment to Sponsored Programs awards for receiving at least $100,000 in research grants during the 2010-12 funding period. Recipients are:

Interim Vice Chancellor for Advancement/Executive Assistant to the Chancellor Regina D. Biddings-Muro, Assistant Professor of Human Development and Family Studies Phuong T. Do, Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering Masoud Fathizadeh,

Director of Upward Bound Joseph I. Flores, Associate Professor of Mathematics Jeff L. Gregg, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Education Opportunity Programs/Director/McNair Achievement Program Roy L. Hamilton, Senior Research Scientist Akram Hossain, Director of Energy Efficiency and Reliability Center Robert Kramer,

Assistant Vice Chancellor for Administrative Services Michael J. Kull, Senior Research Scientist John R. Moreland, Professor of Mechanical Engineering Technology Gregory P. Neff, Head of Department of Mechanical Engineering/F&E Meyer Professor of Mechanical Engineering/Director of Purdue Calumet Water Institute George Nnanna, Director of NW Indiana Area Health Education Center Lynn T. Olszewski,

Professor of Physics Neeti Parashar, Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Ralph V. Rogers, Professor of Biology Charles C. Tseng, Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering Xiuling Wang, Assistant Dean for Graduate Studies (School of Technology) Mohammad A. Zahraee and Interim Assistant Vice Chancellor for Research and Graduate Studies/Director of Center for Innovation through Visualization and Simulation Chenn Q. Zhou.