15 nominated for Purdue Calumet Outstanding Faculty Awards; comments due by April 1

Fifteen faculty members have been nominated for Purdue University Calumet’s 2010-11 Outstanding Faculty Awards.

The nominees are:

  • Outstanding Teacher Award – (based on the ability to help students meet course objectives, the ability to stimulate a desire to do so, subject matter teaching competence, and the ability to assist and motivate students): Professor of Mechanical Engineering Harvey Abramowitz, Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering Technology Jai P. Agrawal, Associate Professors of Nursing Lisa Hopp and Maureen Marthaler, Associate Professor of Computer Information Technology Barbara Nicolai, Professor of Mathematics Weihua Ruan, Assistant Professor of Biological Sciences Radmila Sarac and Associate Professor of History Kathleen Tobin.
  • Outstanding Scholar Award – (based on achievement in a creative endeavor, development of new knowledge within an academic discipline, or scholarly/creative work that affects students): Assistant Professor of Strategic Management Arifin Angriawan, Professor of Communication Theresa Carilli, Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering Bin Chen, Professor of Biological Sciences Young D. Choi and Professor of Mechanical Engineering George Nnanna.
  • Outstanding Service Award – (based on professional and community service and outreach activity): Professor of Mechanical Engineering Bipin Pai and Professor of Mechanical Engineering Technology Mohammad Zahraee.

In contribution to the selection process, students, alumni, community members and faculty peers are invited to offer input on behalf of any of the nominees to the respective award committee chairs: Outstanding Teacher Award—Professor Geoff Schultz, schultzg@purduecal.edu; Outstanding Scholar Award—Professor Tom Mihail, mihailt@purduecal.edu; and Outstanding Service Award—Professor Neeti Parashar, Parashar@purduecal.edu. All comments on behalf of the nominees are due by April 1.

The awards will be announced in August at the 2011-12 academic year-opening Faculty & Staff Convocation. Other information can be obtained by contacting Tania Sanders, executive assistant to the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, at 219/989-2446 or sanderst@purduecal.edu.