Friday, October 30th, 2009 - 10:35 am

20 recognized during Alumni Leaders Day

Twenty Purdue University Calumet distinguished alumni were honored during Alumni Leaders Day festivities on campus Nov. 6.

After introductions and award presentations, the honorees participated in a one-hour forum and panel discussion. An opportunity to network will follow.

Alumni Leaders Day was hosted by the Purdue Alumni Calumet.

Following are the Purdue Alumni Calumet’s 2009 class of Alumni Leaders, (their city of residence), job title and award:

School of Education

Toni R. Mitchell (Valparaiso) principal, Knapp Elementary School (Michigan City); Department of Graduate Studies in Education Award;

Denise Hughes (Munster) principal, Jefferson Elementary School (Hammond); Department of Teacher Preparation Award;

School of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences

Mitchell J. Macenski (Minneapolis, MN), global director clinical affairs, Zimmer Spine, (Edina, MN); Department of Behavioral Sciences Award;

Roman Modrowski (Chicago) senior editor,, (Chicago, IL), Department of Communication and Creative Arts Award;

April Heltsley (Bloomington, IN), senior faculty lecturer, Indiana University Kelley School of Business, Operations and Decision Technologies (Bloomington, IN); Department of English and Philosophy Award;

Richard Gianni (Crown Point), senior faculty member, Westwood College, (Calumet City, IL); Department of History and Political Science Award;

School of Engineering, Mathematics and Science

David George (Chicago) director of bioinformatics, Precision Biomarker Resources

(Evanston, IL); Department of Biological Sciences Award;

Jon Aros (Valparaiso) environmental chemist, Hammond Sanitary District (Hammond); Department of Chemistry and Physics Award;

Susan J. Jackson (La Porte) global sales and export manager, Environmental Technology, Inc. (South Bend); Department of Electrical Engineering Award;

Jeff Schieb (Hammond) Associate Director for the Office of Institutional Research & Continuing Lecturer, Purdue University Calumet (Hammond; Department of Mathematics, Computer Science and Statistics Award;

Dale Wiersbe (St. John) retired, former President & CEO Ispat Inland; Department of Mechanical Engineering Award;

School of Management

Marisol Yvonne Edmond (Merrillville), revenue agent, Internal Revenue Service (Merrillville); Department of Accounting Award;

Michael Januszewski (Crown Point), senior equity trader, William Blair & Company, LLC (Chicago); Department of Finance and Economics Award;

Toma Lukajic (Crown Point, IN), chief financial officer, Bayshore Properties, Inc. (Merrillville); Department of Information Systems Award;

Kasey Rodell (Crown Point), director client consulting, The Nielsen Company (Chicago); Department of Marketing, Human Resources and Management Award;

Eva Quiroz (Merrillville), case manager, Wellpoint (Indianapolis); MBA Award;

School of Nursing

Patricia Breitweiser, (Crown Point), supervisor of health services, School City of Hammond (Hammond); School of Nursing Award;

School of Technology

Brian H. McShane (Munster) president and CEO, McShane’s (Munster); Department of

Construction Science and Organizational Leadership Award;

Fred C. Keith (Schererville), IT Manager, Ford Motor Company (Chicago); Department of Engineering Technology Award;

Timothy Kovacik (Schererville), manager network services infrastructure worldwide, Griffith Laboratories (Alsip, IL); Department of Computer Information Technology and Graphics Award.

Marketing and Communications
Lawshe Hall , Room 310 D
2200 169th Street
Hammond, Indiana 46323

(219) 989-2217
1-800 HI-PURDUE, x.2217