Monday, April 20th, 2009 - 3:03 pm

Alumni Link Header

By DIANA VIRIJEVICH, Director of Annual Giving and Alumni Relations

21 receive outstanding alumni awards

Twenty-one Purdue University Calumet graduates received the Purdue Alumni Association-Calumet’s 2008 Outstanding Alumni Awards during Alumni Leaders Day Nov. 14. Faculty from each Purdue Calumet academic department selected honorees based on professional success.Chancellor Howard Cohen presented an Outstanding Alumni Award medallion to each award recipient.

A popular part of this event was an open forum during which honorees answered questions and offered advice to students and professionals.

Joining Peggy Buffington and Deno Yiankes are the following 2008 Alumni Leaders Day honorees.

Susan M. Wirtz

Department of GraduateStudies in Education
. . . is a Reading Recovery teacher and kindergarten teacher at Oak Hill Elementary in Lowell.

David M. Radovich, D.D.S.

Department of Biological Sciences
. . . practices general dentistry in Munster. Over the years he has shared his dental experience with Boys, Girls and Eagle Scouts and high school, college and dental school students.

Mary E. Costa

Department of Chemistry and Physics
. . . is a Quality Assurance Engineer for the Quality Department at ArcelorMittal – Indiana Harbor in East Chicago, where she supervises 26 employees in five laboratories.

Gerald W. Herr

Department of Electrical Engineering
. . . is Vice President of Business Development at Nordic Energy Services LLC in Willowbrook, Ill.

Kelly M. Dallas

Department of Mechanical Engineering
. . . is a Project Manager with ArcelorMittal in the Corporate Engineering group and is the company’s lead recruiter at Purdue Calumet.

Diana Underwood-Gregg, Ph.D.

Department of Mathematics, Computer Science and Statistics
. . . serves as Associate Professor of Mathematics Education and Director of the Center for Mathematics Teaching and Learning at Purdue Calumet.

Mark D. Dollins

Department of Communication and Creative Arts
. . . is Senior Vice President – Communications for PepsiCo Americas Foods (PAF) and PepsiCo Global Internal Communications. He is responsible for consumer public relations, media relations, consumer and crisis response, executive and employee communications, and community relations for PepsiCo’s foods businesses in North and South America.

Eunice M. Madison, Ph.D.

Department of English and Philosophy
. . . is a Continuing Lecturer for the Department of English and Philosophy at Purdue Calumet.

Luisa Gonzalez-Hannon

Department of Foreign Languages and Literature
. . . is Director of Guidance at Boone Grove High School in Valparaiso. She oversees high school, middle school and elementary school counselors within the school system.

Cynthia L. Ogorek

Department of History and Political Science
. . . has authored two books on local historical topics, Along the Calumet River and The Lincoln Highway Around Chicago, as well as numerous magazine and newspaper articles and encyclopedia entries.

Stacy Januszewski

Department of Accounting
. . . is Senior Vice President and Chief Risk Officer for Peoples Bank Corporate Center in Munster.

Jeffrey L. Biesczat

Department of Finance and Economics
. . . serves as Senior Manager of Commercial Finance for the William Wrigley Jr. Company in Chicago.

Michael P. Puaca

Department of Information Systems
. . . is Director of Global Infrastructure for Brunswick Corporation
in Lake Forest, Ill.

Douglas J. Ollie

Department of Marketing, Human Resources and Management
. . . is Director of Logistics Services, Internet & Catalog Division for Sears Holdings Corp.

Jesus A. Cervera

MBA Program
. . . serves as Vice President of Community Affairs at Citizens
Financial Bank for Indiana and Illinois markets.

Marsha M. King, RN, MS, MBA, CNAA

School of Nursing
. . . is System Chief Nursing Officer of Saint Joseph Regional Medical, a multi-hospital health system in South Bend.

Michael E. Bergin

Department of Construction Science and Organizational Leadership
. . . is President of CMM Group, Inc. in Lansing, Ill.

Edward J. Shultz, PE, CCE, MBA

Department of Engineering Technology
. . . is Vice President of Engineering and Construction / Regional Consulting Engineer for the Sisters of St. Francis Health Services’ Northern Indiana Region.

Bradley A. Comer

Department of Computer Information Technology and Graphics
. . . is IT Manager for The Chicago Bar Association, a 22,000-member organization consisting primarily of lawyers and judges from Cook County, Ill. and surrounding area.

Congrats, honored Purdue Calumet alumni!

2008 Outstanding Alumni Award recipients

2008 Outstanding Alumni Award recipients
are, from left sitting: Jesus Cervera,Marsha M. King, Mary E. Costa, Stacy Januszewski, Eunice Madison,Luisa Gonzalez-Hannon and Kelly M. Dallas

Standing: Edward J. Shultz, Bradley A. Comer, Douglas J. Ollie,Michael P. Puaca, Jeffrey L. Biesczat,Cynthia L. Ogorek, ChancellorHoward Cohen, Mark D. Dollins,Deno K. Yiankes, Peggy Buffington, Diana Underwood-Gregg, Susan M. Wirtz, Gerald W. Herr,Michael E. Bergin andDavid M. Radovich

Marketing and Communications
Lawshe Hall , Room 310 D
2200 169th Street
Hammond, Indiana 46323

(219) 989-2217
1-800 HI-PURDUE, x.2217