Purdue West Lafayette technical staff will be performing maintenance on the Purdue West Lafayette Network. Additional maintenance is needed to address the network disruption earlier this week on the Purdue West Lafayette campus.
When: 12:00AM to 12:30AM (30 minutes) Saturday, April 19, 2014
Affected Services: Access to Purdue West Lafayette System Resources from the regional campuses and from most home network providers. In particular, this will affect access to Blackboard from off-campus. If you are connected via the Purdue West Lafayette VPN prior to the network maintenance, then you’ll be able to stay connected to the Purdue West Lafayette on-campus services during the outage.
Is there anything that the affected users need to do during or after the outage? No. If you do experience any issues connecting to resources on the Purdue West Lafayette campus after the maintenance outage, please reboot your computer and try again.
Who should I contact? If you have any questions or concerns please E-mail the IS Customer Service Center at firstname.lastname@example.org or you can call the IS Customer Service Center at 219.989.2888 option 2.
Start/Pause/Stop: The start button is used to begin a new search process. By default when Identity Finder is opened, a search is already started, and this button will be replaced with the pause button.
Navigation: Once Identity Finder has discovered any files that contain any Social Security information, the three buttons, Collapse All Rows, Previous Match, and Next Match, will help to navigate through the search results.
Secure: The Secure button is used to encrypt a file so that it cannot be read by other users. After selecting a file, and then clicking on Secure, a Identity Finder will save the file as a .zip file and ask for confirmation. Identity Finder will also ask how heavy of an encryption you wish to use, and what password you wish to use to gain access to the file. Make sure that is a password that is easy to remember, since there is no way to reset the password, or to decrypt it once this is done.
Shred: The Shred button is used to delete a file. Once you shred a file, it is not recoverable. Normally when a file is deleted, all paths to the file are deleted, but it still is on the hard drive, until it is written over by the system. This button will not only delete the file, but will write over the file seven times using all zeros, so that it is completely wiped from the system. Make sure that you want to use this option before deleting a file, because once done, there is no way to recover it. If you think the file might be needed in the future, it’s a good idea to save the file to some other device such as a thumb drive, or CD before shredding the file.
Open: This button will open the selected file so that you may determine whether to secure, shred, or leave the file as is.