IT Governance Groups and Committees

In November 2009, the Vice Chancellor for Information Services charged a task force consisting of members of the two primary campus information technology consultative bodies (Administrative Computing Committee and the Academic Computing Council) to investigate the issues related to information technology administration and governance on campus. In light of the creation of a new division within the University that brings together the information technology and University Library organizations, it seemed to be an is an opportune time to reconsider the governance structure for information technology.

The current governance structure has been in place for over six years and during that time the needs of the campus have evolved. Informal groups have arose to address specific issues but none of these informal groups have any official standing and this has created confusion in knowing where the appropriate decision making authority for various information technology issues rests within the University.

As a result of the work of the task force, as well as additional consultation with faculty members, deans, staff, and students at Purdue Calumet as well as in West Lafayette, we are modifying the information technology governance structure as outlined in the Information Technology Governance Structure Reorganization Plan.  As a complete reorganization, this plan supersedes Chancellor’s Memorandum A-246.

The new plan defines a substantially different environment for future information technology decision making. The major focus of this plan is to:

  1. Establish a clear framework for defining how information technology can best be used to advance the strategic interests of the University and its various communities,
  2. Create a clear line of communication and decision making for major information technology initiatives,
  3. Define the responsibilities of all groups that are part of the process,
  4. institute membership criteria for groups, and
  5. Clarify participation criteria in the various groups.

Special thanks are extended to the members of the task force that generated the basic conceptual framework for the governance model: Anastasia Trekles (SOE), Joe Morales (IS), Daniel Suson (EMS), Heather Zamojski (IS), Anne Agosto-Severa (Academic Affairs), Dorothy Briestansky (ALC), and Linda Baer (Administrative Services). Without their contributions, as well as those of the other faculty members, deans, staff, and students who contributed their thoughts, this reorganization plan would not be the strong plan that it is.

Appointments to these new committees will be made in accordance to the plan. The goal is to have the new structure in place and functioning by the middle of fall semester 2010.

Back to top