Faculty & Staff

Nasser Houshangi Nasser Houshangi, Ph.D., P.E.

Professor and Head of Electrical & Computer Engineering
Electrical & Computer Engineering Department
PhD, Purdue University, 1990

Specialty:
Robotics, Mobile Robots, Control Systems, Multi-Sensor Integration
Office: Potter 121B
Phone : (219) 989-2461
Email : hnasser@purduecal.edu

muhammad-anan Muhammad Anan, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering
PhD, University of Missouri-Kansas City, 2008

Specialty:
Computer Networks, Wireless Sensor Networks, Embedded Systems and Software Engineering
Office: Potter 321B
Phone : (219) 989-2483
Email : muhammad.anan@purduecal.edu

Constantin M. Apostoaia Constantin M. Apostoaia, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering
PhD, Transylvania University of Brasov, Romania, 1999

Specialty:
Energy conversion systems, Motion control of electric machines and drives, Advanced real-time simulation systems and rapid prototyping tools, Identification and modeling of dynamic physical systems
Office: Potter 300
Phone : (219) 989-2268
Email : apostoai@purduecal.edu

Bin Chen Bin Chen, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering
PhD, Duke University

Specialty:
Biomedical Engineering, Medical Imaging, Image Processing
Office: Potter 302
Phone : (219) 989-2486
Email : chen121@purduecal.edu

Howard Gerber Howard Gerber, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Electrical & Computer Engineering
PhD, Illinois Institute of Technology in Chicago

Specialty:
Electromagnetics Containment of Liquid Metals,Electromagnetic Sensors,Electromagnetic Modeling,Induction Heating,Magnetic Measurements,and Dielectric Heating
Office: Potter 323
Phone : (219) 989-2682
Email : gerber@purduecal.edu

Kaliappan Gopalan Kaliappan Gopalan, Ph.D.

Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering
PhD, University of Akron

Specialty:
Speech Signal Analysis,Digital Signal Processing,Digital Systems
Office: Potter 325
Phone : (219) 989-2685
Email : gopalan@purduecal.edu

Donald Gray Donald Gray, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering
PhD, University of Notre Dame

Specialty:
Control Systems,Electronics,Large Scale Dynamical Systems,Artificial Networks,Expert Systems
Office: Potter 329
Phone : (219) 989-2756
Email : gray@purduecal.edu

Toma I. Hentea Toma I. Hentea, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Electrical & Computer Engineering
PhD, UC Berkeley

Specialty:
Image Processing, Pattern Recognition, Neural Networks, Fuzzy Logic Control, Digital Signal Processing, System Modeling and Simulation, Computer Vision
Office: Potter 323
Phone : (219) 989-3106
Email : thentea@purduecal.edu

Dave Kozel David Kozel, Ph.D.

Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering
PhD, Purdue University

Specialty:
Real Time Digital Signal Processing,Control Systems,Biomedical Applications,Data Acquisition
Office: Potter 327
Phone : (219) 989-2680
Email : kozel@purduecal.edu

Edward S. Pierson Edward S. Pierson

Professor Emeritus of Electrical & Computer Engineering
Undergraduate Coordinator, Departments of Engineering

ScD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Electrical Engineering, 1964

Specialty:
Electromagnetics, Magnetohydrodynamics, Advanced energy systems, Power systems, Environmental issues
Office: Potter 333
Phone : (219) 989-2467
Email : pierson@purduecal.edu

Picture of Besma Smida Besma Smida, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering
Ph.D, University of Quebec, Canada

Specialty:
Wireless Communications, Information Theory, Signal Processing
Office: Potter 315C
Phone : (219) 989-8374
Email : besma.smida@purduecal.edu

Professor Xiaoli Yang Xiaoli Yang, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering
Ph.D in Electrical Engineering, China University of Mining and Technology

Specialty:
Virtual Reality,Visualization and Modeling, Software Engineering
Office: Potter 331
Phone : (219) 989-2763
Email : yangx@purduecal.edu

  Carol Wolfe

Secretary

Office: Potter 121
Phone: (219) 989-3106
E-mail: wolfe@purduecal.edu

  Kenneth White

Computer Coordinator and Technician

Office: Potter 304
Phone: (219) 989-2482
E-mail: kenneth.white@purduecal.edu