Student E-news @ AIST May Newsletter

Taken from the Student E-news @ AIST May Newsletter [Opens in New Window]

AISTech 2014 — A Record-Setting Event! 

A record total of 160 students from over 30 universities, representing 12 countries, attended AISTech 2014 in Indianapolis, Ind., USA, last week. Engineering students from a variety of educational disciplines attended the conference and were offered complimentary registration, individual travel grants of US$250, and paid session monitor positions.

Picture of all student awards winners.

In addition, AIST held the annual Attendance Challenge among participating universities. The university with the highest number of students in attendance received US$500. The winner of this year’s challenge was Missouri University of Science & Technology with 28 students registered.

Student Plant Tour 

Student activities began with a Student Plant Tour on Sunday, 4 May, to Nucor Steel–Indiana in Crawfordsville, Ind., USA. Nucor provided the group of 28 with lunch before touring the facility. Students who attended the tour were very appreciative of the opportunity and grateful to Nucor for their hospitality.

Undergraduate Student Project Presentation Contest 

On Monday, 5 May, the Undergraduate Student Project Presentation Contest was held. During this contest, eight projects were presented before a panel of judges. Winners are listed in the left-hand column.

Participants were judged on technical content, topic coverage and presentation skills. The contestants included:Sammuel Grossi Aleixo from Universidade Federal de Ouro Preto, Hannah AmorStephen BuiltaMichael Garcia, Shanshan Peng and Meiru Zhu from Purdue University – Calumet, Kenneth Swartz from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Marcos Figueiredo Nicolau, Andre Amaral Ribeiro and Bruno Furtado Ricciofrom Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais, and Katherine Le from the University of Toronto. 

fig 2

Graduate Student Poster Contest 

The Graduate Student Poster Contest was held on 5 May in the Indiana Convention Center. In all, there were 24 posters entered in the contest. Winners are listed in the left-hand column.

Students who entered the contest included: Yanyan Bi from KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Ming Tang,Megha Jampani, Andre Assis, Haoyuan Mu, Tang Dai and Jorge Gibson from Carnegie Mellon University, Lance Hibbeler, Prathiba Duvvuri and Bryan Petrus from University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Christina Sobotka from the Montan University of Leoben, Rifat Farzana from the University of New South Wales,Guangwu Tang, Tenghao Wang, Hongchang Dang and Xiaoxiao Zhang from Purdue University – Calumet, Scott Pisarik, Kramer Pursell, Jianxun He and Krista Limmer from Missouri University of Science and Technology,Paul Wu from University of Toronto, and Tiago Luis Oliveira from Universidade federal de São João Del Rey. 

fig 3

Steel to Students Reception

Students attended the Steel to Students Reception, where they learned about AIST and the AIST Foundation from Glenn Pushis, AIST 2014–2015 president, and Fred Harnack, president of the AIST Foundation Board of Trustees. Kevin Bort then announced the winners of the student contests and presented the prizes. Those who attended also enjoyed dinner and networking with the corporate sponsor representatives.

Mark Your Calendars! 
AISTech 2015 · 4–7 May 2015 · Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Visit for details.
You don’t want to miss it!

Undergraduate Student Project Presentation Contest Winners

Michael Garcia, Stephen Builta, and Hannah Amor from Purdue University Calumet holding the first place ribbon.

First Place (US$1,500)
Michael Garcia, Stephen Builta
and Hannah Amor
Purdue University – Calumet

Kenneth Swartz from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign holding his second place ribbon

Second Place (US1,000)
Kenneth Swartz
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Katherine Le from the University of Toronto holding her third place ribbon.

Third Place (US$500)
Katherine Le
University of Toronto

Graduate Student Poster Contest Winners

Paul Wu from the University of Toronto holding the first place ribbon

First Place Winner (US$1,500)
Paul Wu
University of Toronto

Megha Jampani from Carnegie Mellon University holding her second place ribbon.

Second Place Winner (US$1,000)
Megha Jampani
Carnegie Mellon University

Tiago Luis Oliveira from the Universidade Federal de Sao Joao Del Rey in Brazil holding his third place ribbon.

Third Place Winner (US$500)
Tiago Luis Oliveira
Universidade Federal de
São João Del Rey