Alumni Leaders Day 2010 – Meet our Honorees!

On Thursday, September 23, 2010 Purdue Alumni Calumet honored 21 outstanding Purdue University Calumet alumni from various fields of study at Alumni Leaders Day 2010.  The awards ceremony and panel discussion with networking reception was held in Alumni Hall.  Click on their names to meet our 2010 Honorees!

2010 Honorees (click on names to view their bio)

School of Education

Steve Tripenfeldas (Schererville, IN) Principal, Munster High School (Munster, IN); Department of Teacher Preparation Award

Kara Bonin(Crown Point, IN) Principal, Salk Elementary School (Merrillville, IN); Department of Graduate Studies in Education School of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences

Mary Dankoski (Fishers, IN), Assistant Dean for Faculty Affairs and Professional Development, Indiana University School of Medicine, (Indianapolis, IN); Department of Behavioral Sciences Award

Diane Schweitzer (Saint John, IN), Director of Child Nutrition, School City of Hammond, (Hammond, IN); Department of Hospitality and Tourism Management Award

Larry Brechner (Highland, IN) Munster Auditorium Director and Munster Theatre Company Producer/Director, School Town of Munster, (Munster, IN); Department of Communication and Creative Arts Award

April Heltsley (Bloomington, IN), senior faculty lecturer, Indiana University Kelley School of Business, Oper ations and Decision Technologies (Bloomington, IN); Department of English and Philosophy Award

Kevin Cessna-Buscemi (Valparaiso, IN), Director, National Spanish Examinations (Valparaiso, IN); Department of Foreign Languages and Literature Award

Melissa Yovich-Whattam (Aurora, IL), Director of Enrollment Communications, Aurora University, (Aurora, IL); Department of History and Political Science Award

School of Engineering, Mathematics and Science

Karen Zmuda(East Chicago, IN) Medical Technologist, Northwestern Memorial Hospital  (Chicago, IL); Department of Biological Sciences Award

Konstantina Sotiroglou Maginas (Crown Point, IN), Chemistry Department Supervisor, DonLevy Laboratories (Crown Point, IN); Department of Chemistry and Physics Award

Jeffrey Vaitekunas (Fairview, PA), Vice-President of Research & Development, Cybersonics, Inc. (Erie, PA); Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Sue Mau (Fort Wayne, IN), Faculty, IPFW (Fort Wayne, IN); Department of Mathematics, Computer Science and Statistics Award

Stewart McMillan (Valparaiso, IN), President and CEO, Task Force Tips (Valparaiso, IN); Department of Mechanical Engineering Award

School of Management

J.T. Eagan (Dyer, IN), Senior Associate, KPMG, LLP (Chicago, IL); Department of Accounting Award

Joshua Lybolt (St. John, IN), Vice President, Prime Real Estate (Schererville, IN); Department of Finance and Economics Award

Judy Serwatka (Valparaiso, IN), Professor of Management Information Systems (MIS), Purdue University North Central (Westville,  IN); Department of Information Systems Award

Jason Topp (Cedar Lake, IN), Financial Advisor, Ameriprise Financial (Merrillville, IN); Department of Marketing, Human Resources and Management Award

School of Nursing

Kathy Rich (Chesterton, IN), Cardiovascular Clinical Specialist, LaPorte Regional Health System (La Porte, IN); School of Nursing Award

School of Technology

Araceli Reyna (Portage, IN), Senior Managing Consultant, BKD, LLP (Merrillville, IN); Department of Construction Science and Organizational Leadership Award

Drew Wahlberg (Crown Point, IN), Engineering Director, Aeromet Industries, Inc (Griffith, IN); Department of Engineering Technology Award

John Giobbi (Bend, OR), CEO, Proxense (Bend, OR); Department of Computer Information Technology and Graphics Award