2011-12 Outstanding Faculty Awards Nomination Information and Timeline

Nominations are now being received for this year’s Outstanding Teacher, Scholar and Service Awards.  Following the guidelines approved in November 1999, revised November 2009, by the Purdue University Calumet Faculty Senate, a nomination, not more than 2 pages in length, should include:

1) name of the nominee, rank and departmental affiliation,

2) statement of nominator indicating why the nominee warrants the award, and

3) information relative to the specific requirements for the particular award

By February 6, 2012, nominations are to be submitted to the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs:

LAWS 346

Purdue University Calumet

2200 169th Street

Hammond, IN  46323

At the same time, please submit a duplicate copy of your nomination to the following Committee Chairs:

Outstanding Teacher, Committee Chair:

Dr. Colin Fewer, Associate Professor of English, CLO 286


Outstanding Scholar, Committee Chair:

Dr. David Pick, Professor of Psychology, Porter 211D


Outstanding Service, Committee Chair:

Susan Scachitti, Professor of Industrial Engineering Technology & Acting Head

Department of Engineering Technology, Potter 121


Each award category has a specific purpose and eligibility requirements.

All nominations and supporting documents must include the nominator’s name, address and telephone number.  Nominations are due on or before February 6, 2012.

After the solicitation period, each candidate will be officially notified of his or her nomination and the names of all nominees will be published.  Candidates will also be provided guidelines for submitting a nomination package with sufficient evidence of the candidate’s qualifications to the Outstanding Teacher, Scholar or Service Award Committees.

March 5, 2012 – Nomination packages are submitted by each nominee to the Chair of the specific Outstanding Faculty Committee.

March 12, 2012 – Committee Chairs announce nominees and invite comments from campus community, community at large, and alumni.

April 2, 2012 – The Committee selects award recipient and submits recommdation to the Vice Chancellor by no later than May 1, 2012.